Isaac and Rebekah

Read: Genesis 24-25

Reflect: So Abraham was getting older (or maybe feeling as if the end was near?) and asked his servant to get Isaac a wife with some very specific instructions.  As the servant heads out we read of our first encounter with Rebekah. Before that though the servant prays.

Genesis 24:12-14 “12 He said, “O Lord, the God of my master Abraham, please [c]grant me success today, and show lovingkindness to my master Abraham. 13 Behold, I am standing by the[d]spring, and the daughters of the men of the city are coming out to draw water; 14 now may it be that the girl to whom I say, ‘Please let down your jar so that I may drink,’ and [e]who answers, ‘Drink, and I will water your camels also’—may she be the one whom You have appointed for Your servant Isaac; and by this I will know that You have shown lovingkindness to my master.” “

Rebekah steps up to the plate and Genesis 24:15-28 that the servant’s prayers are answered exactly.

Genesis 24:52 When Abraham’s servant heard their words, he bowed himself to the ground [s]before the Lord. 53 The servant brought out articles of silver and articles of gold, and garments, and gave them to Rebekah; he also gave precious things to her brother and to her mother. 54 Then he and the men who were with him ate and drank and spent the night. When they arose in the morning, he said, “Send me away to my master.” 55 But her brother and her mother said, “Let the girl stay with us a few days, say ten; afterward she may go.” 56 He said to them, “Do not delay me, since the Lord has prospered my way. Send me away that I may go to my master.” 57 And they said, “We will call the girl and [t]consult her wishes.” 58 Then they called Rebekah and said to her, “Will you go with this man?” And she said, “I will go.” 59 Thus they sent away their sister Rebekah and her nurse with Abraham’s servant and his men.”.

Record: Isaac was in a bit of a wilderness after the death of his mother.  My guess is he wasn’t sure what direction his life should take. Parents at the time arranged marriages just as we’ve read here and Abraham sees his son’s sadness and looks to fix it.  The last verse in Genesis 24 is that Isaac was comforted by his new wife.

We learn of Rebekah’s character in this chapter as well.  She was servant hearted, feared God and loved her family.  Her desire to be obedient to God seems clear too.  Rebekah had very little idea of what she was getting herself into, and yet she went willingly, and immediately.

I can’t help but reflect on the servant’s prayer at the beginning.  Oh God of my master was his beginning.  I wonder if this scenario with Rebekah allowed him to pray Oh God my God?

Review: I love the story of Rebekah’s marriage to Isaac. Her willingness to go, her unknowingly answering prayers with her actions and choices.  When I read the story in full it says her actions comforted Isaac.

When I was in the depths of my wilderness it was the choices of others that helped me to find my way out.  If you have a sense you are supposed to reach out to someone I’m encouraging you to do it!  You never know who you might be comforting.

 

About Beth Walker

16 years into marriage, 2 kids and several jobs later, I’m finally finding my voice. My prayer is that this blog will be a place where lessons on life, both on and off the football field can be explored. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Isaac and Rebekah, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

