Moses part 2

Read Exodus 4-7

Reflect Moses tries to convince God he’s picked the wrong man.  God gets frustrated and sends Aaron to help Moses.  Aaron must have already been well respected with the Israelites because the leaders listen to Aaron and believe him and Moses as they retell of speaking with God, who has been silent for 400 years.  29 Moses and Aaron brought together all the elders of the Israelites,30 and Aaron told them everything the Lord had said to Moses. He also performed the signs before the people, 31 and they believed. And when they heard that the Lord was concerned about them and had seen their misery, they bowed down and worshiped.”

There is an interesting exchange between Moses and his wife.  Moses’ son was not circumcised and God was ready to kill Moses over this.  I find it really interesting because God knew of this situation and yet he responds in the moment.  I think it was for Zapphora’s benefit that this happened.  It’s just a guess, but her reaction is so odd that it says to me circumcision might have been a place of conflict with Moses and his wife.  Re-read Exodus 4:18-26.

As things continue Moses and Aaron head out to speak with Pharoah and everything happens exactly as God has said it will.  Still, Moses is defeated and continually begs God to have someone else do this hard thing of freeing the Israelites from Egypt.

Exodus 5:22 22 Moses returned to the Lord and said, “Why, Lord, why have you brought trouble on this people? Is this why you sent me? 23 Ever since I went to Pharaoh to speak in your name, he has brought trouble on this people, and you have not rescued your people at all.” “

Moses has convinced himself that the Israelites were fine as slaves in Egypt and God showed up and rocked the boat.  Is that the craziest thing?  

As Moses and Aaron establish themselves and nuisances to Pharoah the plagues begin.

Record: Does it bother you that Moses fought God so much on his call?  Why or why not?

What do you think of the whole situation with Zapphorah?

Why do you think God refused to let Moses walk away?

Review I love that we are given the story of Moses defending the Hebrews early on in his life.  God planted a desire to protect in Moses long  before he would need it.

We are all given skills and desires that surround our call from God.  Whether it be a natural leader who becomes a teacher, a gifted musician who writes worship music or someone who has amazing patience being able to help those in need our gifts and talents are there.

For me, I’ve found that I connect with other women well and seem to have influence over college-aged women.  I’m passionate about pointing others to Jesus.  I’m also passionate about helping others learn lessons I had to figure out on my own.  How this all comes together changes often.  I have fought God’s call for me because it didn’t “look right” or “make sense”.  I have to wonder if Moses was doing the same thing.  I think he would have gladly swapped roles with Aaron and just been the cheerleader.

About BWalk

15 years into marriage, 2 kids and several jobs later, I’m finally finding my voice. My prayer is that this blog will be a place where lessons on life, both on and off the football field can be explored. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Moses. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

