Moses week 3

Read: Exodus 7-12

Reflect: As you read through the plagues I wonder if the same things stand out to you.

-Moses grew more confident with each interaction

-Pharoah knew how to get the plagues to leave and still would not repent!

-It wasn’t until a the death of his first born son that Pharoah accepted he had lost.

Record:  Why do you think it took 10 plagues to get Pharoah to surrender?

What needed to happen for Moses to gain confidence?

What do you take away from this whole situation?  Did this happen so God could show his power?  So the Israelites could gain wealth upon exit? So Moses could get some bravery?

Review: Moses went from meek to bold, from timid to strong and from questioning to acting.  God used Pharoah’s hardened heart for his glory in several ways.  To begin he revealed his strength and power to all the people, Hebrew or other.  He also established that he knew what would happen before it occurred.

In my own life, the meek pattern turned bold was that surrounding others words towards me.  As life has progressed I’ve encountered conflict just as many others have.  I don’t know if it’s unique or not, but my most devastating conflicts have involved the inability to hear truth and to give strength to human words.  For example, I’ve been told my opinions don’t matter.  I’ve been told I’m unworthy of friendship because of who I am.

For some reason, there have been certain people whose voices have been louder than that of God’s.  Instead of hearing “You are a daughter of the king” I’ve heard You aren’t worthy to be in the kings presence.  As I’ve moved past situations I noted the pattern and how have a game plan to combat lies.  It was the repetition of wounds that has allowed me to identify lies and fight them.

About Beth Walker

16 years into marriage, 2 kids and several jobs later, I’m finally finding my voice. My prayer is that this blog will be a place where lessons on life, both on and off the football field can be explored. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Moses. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

