Because there is one who is stronger

For some summer is wrapping up with just a few weeks left, for our family summer has transitioned to football season. The kids and I will still enjoy some late summer excursions, but for the most part, summer has transitioned into fall.

Fall can be overwhelming for me. The transition to school hours, school activities and after school activities usually means many hours in the car and less time for rest. The calendar days of overfull weekends and very few white squares has arrived again and it will be a steady marathon pace of “on the go” until after the holidays.

The “yeses” of fall are starting to creep up again. There is a staggard start that will find itself in full swing by Labor Day. It’s a good thing when the events to begin are anticipated with joy and for the most part that is the case. The trick is to not consider all that is about to begin at once, for then it becomes too much.

I was in a state of too much this past weekend. We’ve been displaced from our home for several days due to a cracked pipe. Although we’ve been generously provided for life in limbo always feels harder, doesn’t it? With a growing list of things that need to happen but can’t happen yet the beginning of football season has felt, too soon.

As we worshipped in church this weekend I finally laid my burdens down. Stronger by Hillsong was the reminder I needed that God has already decided to carry me and my burdens do not have to overwhelm me. As thoughts materialised into prayers I realized I’d carried them without allowing them to take form, yet they had steered me into the wilderness. With each prayer asking God to step in, acknowledging him as stronger and thanking him, the wilderness distanced again. Peace has settled in my heart again and life no longer feels overwhelming.

Fall will not be the beginning of death in growth. God has reminded me he is in charge of death and life. He is stronger and his strength will carry me, just as it carried Joseph, Sarah, Esther and others.

There is love that came for us
Humbled to a sinner’s cross
You broke my shame and sinfulness
You rose again victorious

Faithfulness none can deny
Through the storm and through the fire
There is truth that sets me free
Jesus Christ who lives in me

You are stronger, You are stronger
Sin is broken, You have saved me
It is written, Christ is risen
Jesus You are Lord of all

No beginning and no end
You’re my hope and my defense
You came to seek and save the lost
You paid it all upon the cross

You are stronger, You are stronger
Sin is broken, You have saved me
It is written, Christ is risen
Jesus You are Lord of all

image: http://static.urx.io/units/web/urx-unit-loader.gif

There is none

So let Your name be lifted higher
Be lifted higher, be lifted higher
So let Your name be lifted higher
Be lifted higher, be lifted higher

So let Your name be lifted higher
Be lifted higher, be lifted higher
So let Your name be lifted higher
Be lifted higher, be lifted higher

You are stronger, You are stronger
Sin is broken, You have saved me
It is written, Christ is risen
Jesus You are Lord of all

You are stronger, You are stronger
Sin is broken, You have saved me
It is written, Christ is risen
Jesus You are Lord of all

 

About BWalk

15 years into marriage, 2 kids and several jobs later, I’m finally finding my voice. My prayer is that this blog will be a place where lessons on life, both on and off the football field can be explored. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

